Safety & Integrity Alliance2019-04-02T14:28:49-04:00

Safety and Integrity Alliance

The health and safety of our human and equine athletes and the integrity of our sport are horseracing’s top priorities. The Safety & Integrity Alliance is horse racing’s key mechanisms for implementation of important safety and integrity initiatives on a uniform basis nationwide.

Alliance racetrack accreditation standards cover six broad areas:

Alliance Partners

Additional Support Partners

Racetrack Safety & Integrity Code of Standards

The NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance Code of Standards lists all standards with which accredited racing facilities must comply. Each year’s Code contains new standards and protocols, thereby continuously raising the bar for accreditation, compliance and excellence in racing.

Racetrack Safety & Integrity Code of Standards

Application for Accreditation

Racetracks must complete an application and undertake an on-site inspection as part of the Alliance accreditation process. The application covers the following areas: (1) injury reporting and prevention; (2) safety equipment and a safer racing environment; (3) medication and testing; (4) health and safety of jockeys; (5) aftercare of equine athletes; and (6) wagering security.

Application for Accreditation

Test Barn Chain of Custody & Procedures

Test Barn Best Practices

AAEP Race Day Injury Management Guidelines

Injury Management Guidelines

AAEP Biosecurity Guidelines

Biosecurity Guidelines

Advisory Board

Reynolds Bell
NTRA Board of Directors
Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association

Dr. Dionne Benson
Racing Medication and Testing Consortium

Dr. Jeff Blea
American Association of Equine Practitioners

Alan Foreman
Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association

Mary Forney
Thoroughbred Owners of California

Craig Fravel
NTRA Board of Directors
Breeders’ Cup

Eric Hamelback
National Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association

Alex Waldrop
National Thoroughbred Racing Association

Steve Lym
The Stronach Group

Ed Martin, Jr.
Association of Racing Commissioners International

Katherine McKee
Keeneland Association, Inc.

Cathy O’Meara
The Jockey Club

Dr. Scott Palmer
New York State Gaming Commission

Martin Panza
New York Racing Association

Dr. Mary Scollay
Kentucky Horse Racing Commission

Hank Zeitlin
Thoroughbred Racing Association

Mike Ziegler
Churchill Downs, Inc




  • 401. West Main Street, Suite 222, Lexington, KY 40507
  • 1.800.792.6872