The NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), presented by Caesars Entertainment, Racetrack Television Network, and Bally’s Las Vegas, is the richest, most important and most prestigious tournament for horseplayers in the world and is the culmination of a yearlong series of sanctioned local tournaments conducted by racetracks, casino race books, off-track betting facilities and horse racing and handicapping websites, each of which sends its top qualifiers to the national finals in Las Vegas. Each year, the NHC winner joins other human and equine champions as an honoree at the Eclipse Awards.

Established in 1999, the first NHC offered total purse money of $200,000. The 2020 NHC offered total prizes and awards of more than $2.9 million. Thomas Goldsmith of Vacaville, CA topped a field of 689 entries to win the $800,000 first-place prize and earn an Eclipse Award as Horseplayer of the Year in 2020.


The NHC Tour is a yearlong bonus series offering additional prize money and qualifying berths to the NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC).

Membership in the NHC Tour is mandatory in order for top finishers of sanctioned NHC qualifying events to be eligible to compete in the NHC Finals in Las Vegas. Membership in the NHC Tour is open to adults 21 years of age or older and requires a one-time, annual membership fee of $50. The NHC Tour membership must be in place prior to the start of any given qualifying tournament in order for one to qualify for the NHC Finals at that qualifying tournament.