The NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC) Presented by Racetrack Television Network, STATS Race Lens™ and Treasure Island Las Vegas is one of horse racing’s great events, with almost 600 players competing for almost $3 million in prize money, including the $800,000 grand prize that comes with an Eclipse Award for Champion Horseplayer. Here’s how you can best follow the action Friday through Sunday from Treasure Island.

A full scoreboard will be updated regularly at, where fans and players can also find each day’s contest race menu and news updates.

Noel Michaels, author of Handicapping Contest Handbook: A Horseplayer’s Guide to Handicapping Tournaments, will host live video coverage daily, Friday to Sunday, from 5-8 p.m. ET (2-5 p.m. PT) on the NTRA Facebook page ( Programming will include interviews with NHC personalities, handicapping and previews of mandatory races, and live coverage of Sunday’s Final Table. Additional news and exclusive content will be shared on Twitter via the official NTRA account, @NTRA.

At the Races with Steve Byk will broadcast live on SiriusXM satellite radio (Sirius 219; XM 206; Online 964) from Treasure Island during the show’s regular hours, 9 a.m.-Noon ET (6-9 a.m. PT) on Friday morning, and online at daily, Friday to Sunday, Noon-5:30 p.m. ET (9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. PT). Then, Monday’s regular 9 a.m.-Noon ET (6-9 a.m. PT) show will feature an extended NHC recap. Peter Fornatale, one of the racing’s most respected tournament columnists and commentators, will co-host.

Recommended Twitter Follows

Past NHC Champions competing this year:

  • Judy Wagner (2001) @judywag01
  • John Doyle (2011) @OptixEQ
  • Michael Beychok (2012) @beychokracing
  • Paul Matties Jr. (2016) @paulmattiesjr
  • Ray Arsenault (2017) @Arsenault_Ray

NHC Tour Champions competing this year:

  • Paul Shurman (2011)  @pshurm
  • Brent Sumja (2013) @bsumja
  • Jonathon Kinchen (2015) @UTbighair
  • Mike Ferrozzo (2017) @mferrozzo

Notable 2018 qualifiers:

  • Kevin Cox, Saratoga Bets, Kentucky Downs analyst, @brooklyncowboy1
  • Chris Fallica, ESPN College GameDay, @chrisfallica
  • Gary Fenton, Little Red Feather racing, @LRFracingclub
  • Christian Hellmers, 2014 Horse Player World Series winner @rawordie
  • Bob Ike, Los Angeles public handicapper, @bobike1
  • Chris Larmey, Hall of Famer, Players Committee chair @derby1592
  • Mike Maloney, prominent pro handicapper, @silk1900
  • Duke Matties, fourth in 2016 NHC won by brother, @DukeMatties
  • Vic Stauffer, Oaklawn Park announcer, @goofonroof
  • Dave Weaver, TVG, @icecoldexacta

On-site credentialed media

  • Jason Beem, BetAmerica, @BeemieAwards
  • Mike Brunker, Las Vegas Review-Journal, @Mike_Brunker
  • Steve Byk, At the Races, @Steve_Byk
  • Ed DeRosa,, @EJXD2
  • Rich Eng, America’s Best Racing, @RichEng4ProPick
  • Ron Flatter, Vegas Stats & Information Network, @ronflatter
  • Peter Fornatale, Daily Racing Form, @Loomsboldly
  • Jonathan Lintner, Horse Racing Nation, @JonathanLintner
  • Lucas Marquardt, Thoroughbred Daily News, @thorostride
  • Bob Nastanovich,, @bnastanovich
  • Dan Tordjman, America’s Best Racing, @DanonymousMan

Presenting organizations and partners

  • STATS Race Lens, @STATSRaceLens
  • Treasure Island, @TIVegas
  • Rhonda Norby, Equibase, @Sparano1
  • Peter Rotondo, Breeders’ Cup, @retro411
  • Ellis Starr, Equibase handicapper, @Ubercapper

NTRA Staff

  • Alex Waldrop, NTRA President & CEO, @AlexWaldrop
  • Michele Ravencraft, NHC coordinator, @MRavencraft
  • Joe Bacigalupo, NHC Charity Challenge coordinator, @Captain47

NHC Publicity

  • Jim Mulvihill, NTRA Communications, @YourFriendJimbo
  • Jennie Rees, NHC publicity @TracksideJennie