The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) today announced that the 47th Annual Eclipse Awards will be held January 25, 2018 – the Thursday before the $16 million Pegasus World Cup Invitational Stakes – at Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

The Eclipse Awards – bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America in 2017 have earned them the title of Champion in 17 categories – will be hosted at Gulfstream Park for the sixth consecutive year.

“The Stronach Group is honored to host the 47th Eclipse Awards at Gulfstream Park and delighted that it will coincide with the second running of the Pegasus World Cup Invitational,” said Belinda Stronach, Chairman and CEO of The Stronach Group. “We are anticipating record crowds with this newly combined effort, bringing together the best in this industry who will be awarded and rivaled in the same week.

“These two events will help in our efforts to elevate the sport with world-class entertainment, unparalleled amenities and exciting events. The Stronach Group has become synonymous with world-class racing and world-class events. This week will raise the bar to new heights.”

Earlier this week The Stronach Group announced that the 2018 Pegasus World Cup Invitational will be held Jan. 27 at Gulfstream Park. The inaugural Pegasus World Cup in January was held one week after the Eclipse Awards and was billed as a showdown between 2014 and 2016 Horse of the Year California Chrome and Champion 3-Year-Old Arrogate.

“Syncing the Eclipse Awards with the Pegasus World Cup Invitational will only enhance two of American racing’s most prestigious events,” said NTRA President & CEO Alex Waldrop. “The Stronach Group has created an important, world-class race that will regularly attract Eclipse Awards finalists, including Horse of the Year candidates. Together we are building a multi-day celebration of champions that will make South Florida the only place to be for racing fans and industry players during the last week of January.”

About The Eclipse Awards

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to the Horseplayer of the Year and to members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.