Eclipse Awards2020-01-29T12:53:14-05:00

49th Annual Eclipse Awards

01. 23. 2020 at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale, FL

Established in 1971 and named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who was undefeated in 18 starts, the Eclipse Awards are presented annually to recognize Thoroughbred horses and individuals whose achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories, and to members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). An Eclipse Award also is presented to the winner of the National Horseplayers Championship. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.


A trio of montages which aired during the 49th Annual Runhappy Eclipse Awards featuring tributes to Off-Track Thoroughbreds (OTTB) have been made available for viewing online by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

The (NTRA) invited fans to participate in saluting Off-Track Thoroughbreds by submitting photos or videos of their OTTBs on Twitter and Facebook using the #NeverEclipsed hashtag in the weeks leading up to the Eclipse Awards, which took place on January 23. The response to the campaign was overwhelming, drawing more than a thousand submissions.

“For thousands of horses, their highest achievements came after they were retired,” said Amy Zimmerman, who, along with Keeneland’s G.D. Hieronymus, served as co-producer of the Eclipse Awards broadcast. “This year, the Eclipse Awards salutes all of the Off-Track Thoroughbreds whose top accomplishments took place not on the track, but in their second careers in show rings, on trails or in backyard pastures with loving families.  These horses never won an Eclipse Award, thus #NeverEclipsed, but remain some of the sport’s bright and shining lights.”

Schedule of Events

Thank you to our 2019 Eclipse Awards Sponsors

2019 Media Award Guidelines
2019 Submission Portal
Pegasus World Cup Tickets




  • 401. West Main Street, Suite 222, Lexington, KY 40507
  • 1.800.792.6872
  • info@ntra.com