The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters announced today that finalists for the 2017 Eclipse Awards will be revealed live on TVG Friday, January 5 at Noon ET/9:00 a.m. PT.

Finalists in 17 equine and human categories will be revealed during a special segment hosted by Mike Joyce and Matt Carothers.

The Eclipse Awards, honoring excellence in Thoroughbred racing, are voted upon by chart callers and racing officials representing the NTRA; members of the NTWAB; and staff from Daily Racing Form.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 47th annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group, on Thursday, January 25, at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla. The ceremony will be highlighted by the announcement of the 2017 Horse of the Year and the presentation of the Eclipse Award of Merit to Frank Stronach.

Tickets to The Eclipse Awards ceremony are on sale for $425 each or $4,000 for a table of 10.  For reservations, please contact Casey Hamilton of the NTRA at, or call (859) 422-2627. For more information on The Eclipse Awards, visit

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.