Jerry and Suzee Bailey to Serve as Honorary Chairpersons 

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced today the formation of an Eclipse Awards Host Committee that will actively promote participation in Eclipse Awards week events and highlight Gulfstream Park Racetrack and Casino and its surrounding community.

Hall of Fame jockey Jerry Bailey and his wife Suzee—longtime residents of south Florida—will serve as Honorary Chairpersons of the Host Committee. Other members are:

Fred Brei – Director, Florida Thoroughbred Breeders’ and Owners’ Association

Stacie Clark – Program Manager, Gulfstream Park Thoroughbred Aftercare Program

Joy Cooper – Mayor of Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Craig Fravel – President and Chief Executive Officer, Breeders’ Cup

Alana Gabriel – Business Travel Sales Manager, The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa

John Hartig – Chief Executive Officer, Daily Racing Form

Elisabeth Jensen – President and Executive Director, The Race for Education

Nancy Kelly – Vice President of Development, Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation

Daryl LaRoche – Horseracing fan, Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Terry Meyocks – Managing Director, The Jockeys’ Guild

Teresa Palmer – Vice President, Florida Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association

Tim Ritvo – President and General Manager, Gulfstream Park

Alex Waldrop – President and Chief Executive Officer, National Thoroughbred Racing Association

Among the events that will be held leading up to the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards on January 19 at Gulfstream Park Racetrack and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla., are a golf tournament at The Westin Diplomat Golf Location on Tuesday, January 15 that will benefit the PDJF; a slots tournament at Gulfstream Park Racetrack and Casino on Wednesday, January 16 that will benefit The Race for Education and the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation; a celebrity poker tournament at Gulfstream on Thursday, January 17 to benefit the PDJF; and a cocktail party at Gulfstream on Friday, January 18 that will benefit Gulfstream Thoroughbred Aftercare Program.

“The Eclipse Awards Host Committee is made up of a wonderful combination of Eclipse Award supporters and local leaders,” said Keith Chamblin, Senior Vice President of the NTRA. “Together, they will help generate interest and ensure that this year’s event is a memorable one.”

Eclipse Awards tickets are available for $375 each or $3,750 for a table of 10. For ticket purchases, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at, or call (859) 422-2657. Order forms for tickets are available at

Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

The Eclipse Awards are presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and The Breeders’ Cup and produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA). Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the NTRA, Daily Racing Form and Equibase.

The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of horse racing interests consisting of leading Thoroughbred racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers, horseplayers and affiliated horse racing associations, charged with increasing the popularity of horse racing and improving economic conditions for industry participants. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. NTRA press releases appear on the NTRA web site,