McKee and Bacigalupo Earn VP Posts

TUCSON, Ariz. — The Turf Publicists of America (TPA) has elected Jim Mulvihill of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) to serve as president of the organization for 2015 and 2016, it was announced Tuesday by outgoing TPA President Mandy Minger at the TPA’s Mark Kaufman Workshop at the University of Arizona Symposium on Racing and Gaming. Mulvihill served as a vice president for 2013-14.

At the same time it was announced Sophia McKee of Emerald Downs and Joe Bacigalupo of the NTRA were elected as 2015-16 vice presidents.  This will be a second term for McKee while Bacigalupo will be serving his first term.

The above trio will join current vice presidents Jennifer Hoyt of Oaklawn Park, Rhonda Norby of Equibase Company and longtime publicist Lynne Snierson, and secretary-treasurer  Dave Zenner of Arlington International Racecourse, each of whom were elected last year to serve a two-year term in 2014 and 2015.

The new slate of officers was installed immediately.

The TPA is an organization that was created in 1951. It is comprised of approximately 140 Thoroughbred racing publicists and marketing executives at racetracks throughout North America with the shared goal of promoting the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Each year, the organization sponsors the TPA Big Sport of Turfdom Award to recognize an individual or individuals who enhanced the sport of thoroughbred racing through their cooperation with the media and racetrack personnel. The Big Sport of Turfdom has been presented annually since 1966.