LEXINGTON, Ky. (January 4, 2020) – Led by Horse of the Year candidates Bricks and Mortar, Maximum Security, and Mitole, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB)  today announced the finalists for the 2019 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 49th annual Eclipse Awards dinner and ceremony, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group on Thursday evening, January 23, at Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Of the 254 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 241 (94.88%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2019 Eclipse Award finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year:        Bricks and Mortar, Maximum Security, Mitole

Two-Year-Old Male:      Maxfield, Storm the Court, Structor

Two-Year-Old Filly:       Bast, British Idiom, Sharing

Three-Year-Old Male:   Code of Honor, Maximum Security, Omaha Beach

Three-Year-Old Filly:    Covfefe, Guarana, Serengeti Empress

Older Dirt Male:            McKinzie, Mitole, Vino Rosso

Older Dirt Female:        Blue Prize (ARG), Elate, Midnight Bisou

Male Sprinter:               Imperial Hint, Mitole, World of Trouble

Female Sprinter:           Belvoir Bay (GB), Come Dancing, Covfefe

Male Turf Horse:           Bricks and Mortar, Mo Forza, World of Trouble

Female Turf Horse:      Got Stormy, Sistercharlie (IRE), Uni (GB)

Steeplechase Horse:    Brain Power (IRE), Scorpiancer (IRE), Winston C (IRE)

Owner:                        Gary Barber, Peter Brant, Klaravich Stables, Inc. and

                                       William H. Lawrence              

Breeder:                       Calumet Farm, Godolphin, George Strawbridge Jr.

Trainer:                         Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox 

Jockey:                         Javier Castellano, Irad Ortiz, Jr., Jose Ortiz

Apprentice Jockey:     Julio Correa, Angel Diaz, Kazushi Kimura    

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Scott Coles will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2019 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and presented by the Breeders’ Cup, Daily Racing Form and The Stronach Group.


Eclipse Awards tickets are available for $425 each, or $4,000 for a table of 10. Additional details can be found on the NTRA website at NTRA.com/eclipse-awards/ or by contacting Casey Hamilton at chamilton@ntra.com.

The “black-tie optional” Eclipse Awards is part of a full week of events that will culminate with the fourth running of the $3 million Pegasus World Cup, on Jan. 25. Separate tickets to the Pegasus World Cup are available on the Gulfstream Park website at pegasusworldcup.com.

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards also include an invitation to a spectacular Friday night, Jan. 24, party in the Gulfstream Park walking ring on the eve of the Pegasus.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.