The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, National Turf Writers And Broadcasters and Daily Racing Form announced today that finalists for the 2018 Eclipse Awards will be revealed live on Saturday, January 5 at 11:05 a.m. ET from Gulfstream Park on , all racetrack outlets carrying the Gulfstream Park simulcast feed, and on

Finalists in 17 equine and human categories will be announced during a 30-minute program hosted by Gulfstream Park racing analysts Gabby Gaudet and Jason Blewitt.

The Eclipse Awards, honoring excellence in Thoroughbred racing, are voted upon by the NTRA, NTWAB and Daily Racing Form.

Winners in all categories, including 2018 Horse of the Year, will be announced at the 48th annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group on Thursday, January 24 at Gulfstream Park Racing and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla., two days prior to the $17 million Pegasus World Cup Invitational race card.

Eclipse Awards will also be bestowed upon Joe Harper, recipient of the Eclipse Award of Merit, and Horseplayer of the Year Chris Littlemore.

Eclipse Awards tickets are available for $425 each or $4,000 for a table of 10. Blocks of rooms have been reserved for Eclipse Awards guests at the J.W. Marriott (formerly Turnberry Isle Miami).  Additional details can be found on the NTRA website at

For additional information, please contact Casey Hamilton of the NTRA at

Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, represented the North American racing officials and Equibase field personnel, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

Officials Partners of the Eclipse Awards include The Stronach Group, Breeders’ Cup, Daily Racing Form, Keeneland, Florida HBPA, Kentucky Thoroughbred Association, Red Brand, Roberts Communications, The Jockey Club, Dean Dorton, WinStar Farm, EquiLottery Win Place Show, IOA Insurance, Florida Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association, Hagyard, Hallway Feeds, Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association, New York Racing Association, Jackson Family Wines, Tito’s Handmade Vodka and Indiano Tequila.