Jeannine Edwards to Again Host; Finalists to be Announced On-Air this Saturday

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters announced today that the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards will be broadcast live Saturday, January 19, on HRTV. Live coverage will also be available via Racetrack Television Network (RTN) and Television coverage will air from 8:00-10:30 p.m., ET (5:00-7:30 p.m., PT). The Eclipse Awards will take place at Gulfstream Park Racetrack and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

For the second consecutive year, the Eclipse Awards will be hosted by Jeannine Edwards of ESPN.

“We are delighted that the highly talented team of professionals at HRTV will be producing this year’s Eclipse Awards show and telecast,” said Alex Waldrop, President and CEO of the NTRA. “And we are every bit as proud to have Jeannine Edwards back again as our host. Jeannine is a universally admired figure within our industry, and she did a first-rate job hosting the event a year ago.”

“It’s an honor for HRTV to be involved with the broadcast of the Eclipse Awards, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments of both equine and human stars during a tremendous 2012 racing season,” said Scott Daruty, President of HRTV. “Our outstanding production team is committed to providing viewers with complete coverage of a memorable evening.”

HRTV will also televise live the announcement of Eclipse Awards finalists during a special edition of “Race Day America” on Saturday, January 5, at 12:00 p.m. ET (9:00 a.m. PT).

Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Eclipse Award voting takes place among designated representatives of the NTRA, DRF and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

The Eclipse Awards are presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and Breeders’ Cup and produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA). Official Partners of the Eclipse Awards include Adequan, Besilu Stables, Keeneland, Kendall-Jackson, NOA Watches and Roberts Communications. The official hotel of the Eclipse Awards is the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa.

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $375 each. Order forms for tickets are available at. Hotel Reservations at the Westin Diplomat can be made at For additional information, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at

The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of horse racing interests consisting of leading Thoroughbred racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers, horseplayers and affiliated horse racing associations, charged with increasing the popularity of horse racing and improving economic conditions for industry participants. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. NTRA press releases appear on the NTRA website,