The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced today that the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders’ and Owners’ Association (FTBOA) has reached an agreement to serve as an Official Partner of the 43rd annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group. The partnership makes FTBOA the sole title sponsor of a welcome breakfast on Jan. 18, the day of the Eclipse Awards, to be held later that evening at Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

“This partnership will increase awareness of Florida’s many attributes as a place to breed and race Thoroughbreds,” said Alex Waldrop, President and CEO of the NTRA. “The state’s success is evident in the multiple Eclipse Award finalists bred there, including Horse of the Year candidate Mucho Macho Man, and several more that raced for big purses at Florida tracks.”

The FTBOA is a not-for-profit association which represents more than 1,300 Thoroughbred breeders and owners who breed, raise, train and race horses born in the state of Florida.

“The FTBOA is honored and enthusiastic to serve as an Eclipse Award sponsor once again and looks forward to many more years of working with the NTRA, The Stronach Group and Gulfstream in hosting the event annually in the Sunshine State,” said Lonny T. Powell, CEO of the FTBOA. “As one of the top breeding and racing jurisdictions in North America, Florida is the perfect place to celebrate and honor the world’s champion Thoroughbreds and their connections.”

The Eclipse Awards VIP Welcome Breakfast presented by the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders’ and Owners’ Association is set for Jan. 18, from 8-10 a.m., on the The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa’s third floor. Admission to the casual continental breakfast is open to anyone with a ticket to the Eclipse Awards ceremony.

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $400 each. Order forms for tickets are available at For additional information on tickets or accommodations, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at

The Eclipse Awards, presented by the Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group, are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the NTRA.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

About the NTRA

The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of more than 80 horse racing interests consisting of leading Thoroughbred racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers, horseplayers and affiliated horse racing associations, charged with increasing the popularity of horse racing and improving economic conditions for industry participants. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. NTRA press releases appear on, Twitter (@ntra) and Facebook (