Federal Legislative Advocacy

The NTRA’s federal legislative advocacy team addresses issues that have a direct and material effect on Thoroughbred industry participants and their business activities, whether those activities relate to racing, breeding or pari-mutuel wagering.

Along with other industry stakeholder groups inside and outside of racing, the NTRA also supports Congressional education programs on matters like agriculture and immigration which affect all breeds and equine disciplines.

Two programs support the NTRA’s work on Capitol Hill.  The Legislative Action Campaign sustains the NTRA’s government relations and lobbying efforts.  NTRA’s political action committee, Horse PACSM, supports specific candidates for re-election.  Sellers and buyers at public auction, sales companies, owners, farms and horseplayers contribute to the Legislative Action Campaign.  Horse PACSM contributions come from individual NTRA members.

Donate Now

Support the Campaign
For our industry, it is fundamental for us to have eyes, ears and voice monitoring the activity in Washington. NTRA has provided this leadership and for that I am most appreciative and strong support their efforts.
Headley Bell of Mill Ridge Farm, Lexington KY
Our farm lives are demanding enough. It’s good to know that the NTRA is there to promote our legislative needs. They have my continued support.
Scott Mallory of Mallory Farms, Lexington, KY
It is of vital importance that every segment of this wonderful industry support the legislative efforts of the NTRA on a national scene. Things just don’t happen and we industry stakeholders need to be supportive of groups that see to it that the right things do happen. As a longtime owner/breeder, I have always found the NTRA to be responsive and always taking a leadership role. I do support their efforts and thank them.
Donald Valpredo of Donald Valpredo Farms, Bakersfield, CA
As hard as those of us in the industry are working each day on our farms, we can’t forget how important it is to have a ‘sixth man’ like the NTRA supporting our team in Washington.
Josh Pons of Country Life Farm & Merryland Farm, Bel Air, MD

Advocacy Center


Tax Center


NTRA Capitol Hill Reports




Legislative News

Background on Effort to Clairfy Pari-Mutuel Withholding and Reporting

NTRA Full Response to Treasury
Public Hearing Remarks

Letters of Support
NTRA News Releases


2016 Legislative Supporters

We wish to thank the following owners, breeders, and consignors and their clients who have contributed to the NTRA’s 2016 Legislative Action Campaign.

2016 Legislative Supporters
Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalifa Al Maktoum
Mike Anderson
Jack G. Arnold
Denny Andrews
Antietam Springs Farm
Douglas Arnold
Ashland Park Stable
Ashview Farm
B & C Bloodstock
Jim Ballinger
Rozamund Barclay
Bender & Bender
Mr. & Mrs. Howard Bender
Evelyn & Maurice Benoit
Betz Thoroughbreds
Blackstone Farm
Ronald Blake
Blue Ribbon Farm
Blue Sky Farm
Bluewater Sales
Bona Terra Stud
Bonita Farm
Erica Bowen
Matt Bowling
Larry & Donna Boyd
Louis A. Bradvica
Mark D. Breen
Alvin Bresciani, Jr.
Briar Hill Farm
Brookdale Farm
Burleson Farm
Caduceus Stables
Calabria Farm
Campbell Farms
Canvasback Farm
Cara Bloodstock
Chanceland Farm
Charlton Bloodstock Agency
Gerald Chatterton
Check Mark Stables
Sherman Chin
Keith Chudzik
Cicero Farms
Claiborne Farm
Conover Stable
Javier Contreras
Country Life Farm
Crestwood Farm
Thomas Cross
DLBI, Inc.
Dark Hollow Farm
Denali Stud
Cathy T. Denelsbeck
Christian Dickinson
Domenic DiLalla
EMFO Racing
Eaton Sales
Donnell Echols
Elm Tree Farm
Emcee Stable
Equus Farm
Farfellow Farms
Shane Floyd
Flying Diamond Farm
Jerry Frankel
David Geofroy
Glade Valley Farms
Glenmalure Farm
Mark Glatt
Richard L. Golden
John Golightly
Robert M. Gorham
Lorna Gray
Bruce R. Grossman
Mary K. Haire
Tom Halasz
Harris Farms
Dr. John C. Harroff
Hartwell Farm
Blake R. Heap
Hebert Bloodstock
S. F. Henderson
Jacob G. Hess
Robert B. Hess, Jr.
Hidden Brook
Jim & Susan Hill
Hillwood Stable
T. Bernard Houghton
Horseshoe Valley Equine
Daren Ives
JAG Racing
Michael W. Jawl
JayArDee Stables
Corey Johnsen
Mike Jones
Russell B. Jones, Jr.
Richard S. Kaster
Carol A. Kaye
Kehner Thoroughbreds
Kenwood Racing
Klaravich Stable
John Koenig
George Krikorian
Lone Star Thoroughbreds
Longvue Farm
Terry Lovingier
Matthew Lyons
Magnolia Racing Stable
Rebecca Maker
Maple Lane Farm
David Marshal
Jan Martin
Everardo Martinez
Mast Thoroughbreds
Kathie Maybee
John D. McKee
Joe McMahon
Ray Juarez Mendoza
Mill Ridge Sales
Ron Moquett
Fred Morgheim
Mullholland Farm
Joe Mulholland
Mulholland Springs
Mystic Acres
N W Management
Thomas Nash
Paul Newhart
Newtown Anner Stud
Nick Nosowenko
Off The Hook
Oxmoor Sales
Paramount Sales
Charles Parker
Pegasus Stud
Picturesque Farm
Jake & Shelly Radosevich
Red Brick Farm
William S. Reightler
Andrew Reynolds
Dr. J. David Richardson
Ridgecrest Farm
Charles E. Robbins
Rockbridge Bloodstock
Andrew Rosen
Rosemont Farm
Temple Rushton
Jerome & Kristina Russell
SJ Bloodstock
SJ Racing
Samotowka Stables
Scarteen Stud
Matthew Schera
Jennifer & Byron Schunk
Leon Scott
Cecil O. Seaman
Shawhan Place
Marshall W. Silverman
Burton K. Sipp
Slash Ranch
Slow & Steady Stables
South Point Sales Agency
William G. Snowden
Speedway Stables
Spring Ridge Farm
Springland Farm
Larry Steinberg
Beryl Stokes, Jr.
Stonerside Farm
Sugarland Thoroughbreds
Sycamore Hall Farm
Taihei Stud Farm
Taylor Made Farm
Taylor Made Sales Agency
Team Valor International
The Poly Group
Thoroughbred Acquisition Group
Top Line Sales
Trinity Racing Stable
Carlo Vaccarezza
Donald Valpredo
Victory Rose Thoroughbreds
Vinery Sales
Philippe Vinh
Carolyn Vogel
War Horse Place
Keith Westrup
White Cloud Bloodstock
Seth & Rob Wikley
Willow Tree Farm
Tanner R. Wingo
Wintickett Farm
Bill Witman
David Wright
Michael I. Yovankin
Brenda Zietz
Contributions to the NTRA Legislative Action Campaign are not tax-deductible. Contributions as reported through March 31, 2016. Names will be added as new information is reported to the NTRA.


Mon 08
Sat 13
Wed 24

OBS Open Sale of Yearlings

August 24 - August 25
Tue 30

Barretts Select Yearling Sale

August 30
Surfside Race Place Del Mar United States
Translate »