NHC Champions

NHC Champions 2019-02-20T10:23:23+00:00

2019 NHC Champion
Scott Coles

Photo credit: Horsephotos.com

A longshot pick in the next to last mandatory race at the 10-person Final Table propelled Scott Coles to the front of a tight leaderboard en route to winning the 20th NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC) Presented by Racetrack Television Network, STATS Race Lens™.  The 34-year-old Coles toppled an NHC field that had 668 entries, second largest in NHC history, and 522 individual players to become the tournament’s youngest ever champion and earn the Eclipse Award as Horseplayer of the Year.

Read Full Article
2018 – Chris Littlemore

Entries: 702
Prizes: $2,974,700
Winning Score: $348.30

Chris Littlemore, a retired autoworker from Whitby, Ontario, Canada, was never seriously threatened throughout the Semifinals and the Final Table, cruising to an $800,000 first-place prize and an eclipse Award as Horseplayer of the Year at the 19th NTRA NHC Presented by Racetrack Television Network, STATS Race LensTM  The NHC had a record field size of 702 entries (568 individual players) and offered a record overall cash and prizes totaling $2,974,700.

I didn’t feel that confident, Littlemore said of entering Day 3 as the leader. I didn’t like the card that well. I didn’t like the races. I got lucky that a lot of chalk came in and kept me on top. I kept my distance. As the day wore on, I wasn’t having a good day, so I just kept picking away, picking away. I was fortunate enough that no big long shots came in to overtake me, and I picked the right horse int he last and it got me through.

2017 – Ray Arsenault

Entries: 654
Prizes: $2,385,000
Winning Score: $407.70

Ray Arsenault became the third Canadian to capture horse racing’s most prestigious handicapping contest when he defeated 654 entries at th 18th NHC held at Treasure Island Las Vegas. Arsenault, a 64-year old transportation broker used his methods of searching out long shots and value horses to take the tournament lead on day two. He never looked back during Sunday’s semifinal round and at the Final Table of 10 players, entering as the leader and continuing to win with long shots.

I played the same way I always play, he said, I rarely play a horse under 5-1 and I love playing bombs because the feeling of hitting a longshot is just great. Today I happened to hit a few. 

I cut my teeth when I could barely walk, he said. My dad would go to Greenwood all the time and I’d tag along. I’d look for programs on the ground so I could sell them to the guys coming in for the last two races.

This is it. This is like the Super Bowl of horse racing.

2016 – Paul Matties, Jr
2015 – John O’Neil
2014 – Jose Arias
2013 – Jim Benes
2012 – Michael Beychok
2011 – John Doyle
2010 – Brian Troop
2009 – John Conte
2008 – Richard Goodall
2007 – Stanley Bavlish
2006 – Ron Rippey
2005 – Jamie Michelson, Jr.
2004 – Kent Meyer
2003 – Steve Wolfson, Jr.
2002 – Herman Miller
2001 – Judy Wagner
2000 – Steven Walker




  • 401. West Main Street, Suite 222, Lexington, KY 40507
  • 1.800.792.6872
  • info@ntra.com